Keith Lenton Memorial Invitation Charity Cup

Sponsored by Akis Fish Bar -  5, Victoria Road, Hartshill, Nuneaton, CV10 0LS

Keith Lenton Memorial Charity Cup

History - Keith Lenton 1947-2021

It was in September 1978 when he was Secretary of the Nuneaton Amateur League, that he took up refereeing, being persuaded to take a game, although not qualified at the time.

He completed the referees course in November later that year, passing out as a Class 3 official. It was not long before he reached the pinnacle , at the time in becoming a Class 1 Referee in February 1983.

Keith planned to only referee on Saturday games, but the NDSFL Referees Secretary, Max Rowley convinced him to join our Referees Panel, where he remained up to his untimely death. After his operation in August, Keith was planning to be back in the middle before Christmas , but sadly this was not to be.

The highlight of his Sunday League adventure, came in his fortieth season in 2017-2018 when he was appointed to referee the Nuneaton Challenge Cup, when Weddington Thistle FC took on Stockingford White Lion FC. In 2019 Keith with Ginny by his side was rewarded for 40 years service to the NDFSL when he picked up the converted "Chairman's" Award.

Keith was always there, offering guidance to his younger colleagues and always with a smile, nothing being to much trouble whatever the task, he will be sadly missed by all associated with NDSFL !

The FINAL was won by SS Bulls Head FC who beat Bedworth Bank FC Res 3 - 1

AKIS Fish Bar, Hartshill, Nuneaton, CV10 0LS

Keith Lenton
Memorial Charity Cup


1  Attleborough Sports FC Res
2  Griff & Coton Manor FC Res

0 - 1
1 - 2

Earl Shilton Town FC
Phoenix Utd FC
3  Phoenix Utd FC0 - 1SS Bulls Head FC
4  Rumour Mill (Barwell) FC1 - 4Desford-Caterpillar FC
5  Bedworth Bank FC ResHWWhite Hart Wanderers FC
6  Acorn FC Res (Pens 3-2)1 - 1Earl Shilton Town FC

Acorn (Nuneaton) FC Res3 - 4Bedworth Bank FC Res
SS Bulls Head FC

Bedworth Bank FC Res
1 - 0

1 - 3
Desford-Caterpillar FC

SS Bulls Head FC

Keith Lenton Memorial Trophy - Final

Red Lion (Barwell) FC  0 - 6  Red Lion (Sapcote) FC
The final of the Keith Lenton Memorial Trophy went the way of Red Lion Sapcote as they took on Red  Lion Barwell in the battle of the Red Lions. Sapcote, from Division Three, raced into a 4-0 lead and eventually triumphed 6-0 with goals from Braydon York, Olly Walker, Tom Hall, George Dewis, Ben Harding, and Ethan Pegg.

Photographs courtesy of Chris Simpson - Speedway Photo's